Popular Posts

Thursday, March 19, 2020

Exploring The Writing & Gaming Universe

“In good writing, the contemplative and the exciting happen at the same time.” – Dave Morris

A native of England, where he was born on this date in 1957, Morris is the author of more than 70 books, including the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles series, and a leading developer of the "Empire of the Petal Throne" gaming system (created by MAR Barker and published by TSR).  He also has created the playable rules system Tirikelu; edited a fanzine; and co-authored a book on the computer gaming industry.

Prior to diving into fantasy computer gaming, he wrote a number of major fantasy and horror books, including the 7-book Knightmare series – a historical fantasy adventure series set in the early 13th century that ties in with a television series of that same name – and the bestselling contemporary horror novel, Lost Souls.    

Among his many successful publications are the “Blood Sword,” “Dragon Warriors,” and “Fabled Land” series.  “When you're a writer,” Morris said,  “everything that interests you feeds into your work.”  He also said that good writers also need to be good sales people for themselves and their works.

“Standing out as a writer today requires more than a bright idea and limpid prose,” he said.  “Authors need to become businesspeople as well.”

Share A Writer’s Moment with a friend at http://writersmoment.blogspot.com

No comments:

Post a Comment